Districts and neighborhoods of Barcelona

Updated Apr 08 2024

The city of Barcelona is divided into a total of 10 different districts and each one of them, in turn, into several neighbourhoods. The role of the districts is to manage the specific aspects of the city, so as to help speed up action in them and to bring municipal management a little closer to the citizen, with the councillor of each of them overseeing their management.

All information about the districts of Barcelona and their neighbourhoods

The current division into 10 districts dates back to 1984 and different aspects were taken into account to create the division. Cultural and historical aspects were especially considered as the city of Barcelona is still a conjunction of different towns and areas, which to expand the size of Barcelona, have become part of it.

Here we offer you information on each and every one of the districts of Barcelona as well as the list of the different neighbourhoods within them.

Ciutat Vella district

The district of Ciutat Vella is number 1, because it is the oldest part of the city and with the most history, which means that it hosts some of the most interesting places in the city, both architecturally, politically and of course in terms of tourism, as there are countless bars and restaurants aimed at tourists.

Neighbourhoods in the Ciutat Vella district

L’Eixample district

The district of l’Eixample (meaning “Expansion”) is one of the best known and most characteristic of Barcelona for, among other things, the perfect geometry of its blocks and their inner courtyards. Its current appearance is due to the remodelling carried out from the project by Ildefons Cerdà, whose objective was to design a city conceived by and for people.

Neighbourhoods in the l’Eixample district

Antiga Esquerra de l’Exiample
La Nova Esquerra de l’Exiample
Sant Antoni
Dreta de l’Eixample
Sagrada Familia
Fort Pienc

Gràcia district

The district of Gràcia, which was initially known as la Vila de Gràcia, was a town separate from Barcelona until 1897 when it became part of the city as the sixth district that it is today.

Neighbourhoods in the Gràcia district

El Coll
La Salut
Vila de Gracia
El Camp d’en Grassot – Gràcia Nova

Horta – Guinardó district

The district of Horta Guinardó is the second largest in Barcelona, is located in the northeast of the city and has a total of 11 neighbourhoods.

Neighbourhoods in the Horta – Guinardó district

El Baix Guinardó
Can Baró
El Guinardó
La Font d’en Fargues
El Carmel
La Teixonera
Sant Genís dels Agudells
La Vall d’Hebron
La Clota

Les Corts district

The district of Les Corts once belonged to the municipality of Sarrià. In 1836 it became its own municipality and was finally integrated into the city of Barcelona in 1899.

Neighbourhoods in the Les Corts district

Les Corts
La Maternitat i Sant Ramon

Nou Barris district

Despite its name, the district of Nou Barris (whose name in Catalan in English means “nine neighbourhoods”), is made up of a total of 13 neighbourhoods. The origin of its name does not come from the number of neighbourhoods in the district but from a magazine of the first neighbourhood association in the area.

Neighbourhoods in the Nou Barris district

Can Peguera
Ciutat Meridiana
La Guineueta
La Prosperitat
Les Roquetes
La Trinitat Nova
El Turó de la Peira
Torre Baró
Vilapicina i la Torre Llobeta

Sant Andreu district

The district of Sant Andreu, in English Saint Andrew, was created from the new territorial division of the city which was carried out in 1984.

Neighbourhoods in the Sant Andreu district

Trinitat Vella
Baró de Viver Peguera
Bon Pastor
La Sagrera
El Congrés i els Indians
Sant Andreu de Palomar

Sants – Montjuïc district

In the southern part of the city is the district of Sants – Montjuïc, which has a total of 8 neighbourhoods in its extensive territory. As with other areas of Barcelona, the neighbourhood of Sants, which belongs to this district and partly gives it its name, was originally an independent town.

Neighbourhoods in the Sants – Montjuïc district

El Poble Sec
La Bordeta
La Font de la Guatlla
La Marina del Port
La Marina del Prat Vermell
Sants – Badal

Sarrià – Sant Gervasi district

Part of the district of Sarrià Sant Gervasi, whose name originates from the original municipality of Sant Gervasi and in the village of Sarrià, is located in the upper part of the city and in certain points of it very close to the Serra de Collserola.

Neighbourhoods in the Sarrià – Sant Gervasi district

Vallvidrera, el Tibidabo i les Planes
Les Tres Torres
Sant Gervasi – La Bonanova
Sant Gervasi – Galvany
El Putget i Farró

Sant Martí district

The district of Sant Martí, considered to be the tenth in the city, borders one of its neighbourhoods with the sea, which many of its inhabitants do not hesitate to take advantage of to go to the beach as soon as the summer arrives in Barcelona.

Neighbourhoods in the Sant Martí district

El Camp de l’Arpa del Clot
El Clot
El Parc i la Llacuna del Poblenou
La Vila Olímpica del Poblenou
Diagonal Mar i el Front Marítim del Poblenou
El Poblenou
El Besòs i el Maresme
Provençals del Poblenou
Sant Martí de Provençals
La Verneda i la Pau
error: @ Contenido protegido por derechos de autor / Content protected by copyright